First Thing

My alarm is set for 6:20am every day. I walk to the Lune CBD store in Melbourne with Lily (my black Labrador). It’s my chance to say hello to the crew in the city and check in with them, do a bit of quality control of the day’s pastries. By the time we get home I’ve already clocked my 10,000 steps, so I feel set up for the rest of my day!

I normally function well in the mornings, but that’s pretty dependent on getting my walk in with Lily. I find that a good brisk walk is not only good for physical health, I also treat it as a bit of a moving meditation, where I can clear my head and start planning out my day.

For someone who started a bakery, and spent the first six years or so with a daily alarm set for pre 3am, these days I flat out don’t do early mornings anymore (maybe that’s a sign that I’m getting old!!)


I arrive at Lune’s office on Rose Street, Fitzroy between 9:30 and 10am, but I consider my walk into the city to see the team the unofficial start to my work day. The first few tasks of the day include having a coffee, checking emails and checking in with the HQ team. 


I don’t have lunch every day – if I’m hungry, I eat. It’s often a ham and gruyere croissant on the run, but if I feel like actually breaking for lunch I’ll wander around the corner to Napier Quarter and have a couple of plates there.


The afternoons are dominated by meetings. SO MANY MEETINGS these days. I’m a pretty energetic person, and I don’t like to sit still or not be busy, so in general I still feel pretty energised by the afternoon.


I typically leave the office anywhere between 3pm and 5pm, but will continue to work when I get home for another couple of hours – sometimes they are the most productive hours, because there’s no one around asking me questions!!

I eat out quite a lot – I live in Fitzroy and we are so blessed with the most amazing places to eat. But if I cook at home it’s typically pasta, or a steak, or fish – pretty simple.

To unwind, I love doing yoga. I’ve been going to the same instructor for 14 years now. he’s the absolute best, and I always feel 100% better after doing one of her classes. I try to get to three classes a week. Otherwise, I also just love catching up with my best friend who is one of my biggest supporters, and easily the funniest, kindest and most talented person on the planet.

Last Thing

I’m not very good at going to bed, and I’m bit notorious for falling asleep on the couch, which is a bad habit I wish I could break. I try to be in bed by between 10:30 and 11pm. I definitely need more sleep than I used to, but again, probably just a sign that I’m getting old!!

Right now I am listening to, watching, and reading…

Watching: The Capture, The White Lotus, From Scratch – a bit of good old British detective drama, a bit of kook, and a bit of romance…

Reading: A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara – but I’m finding it hard to get into it…

Listening: I don’t really listen to anything at home. I think it’s because I’m surrounded by “café” type white noise all day, so when I get home I love the silence. But… I do absolutely LOVE belting out Taylor Swift when I’m driving. Talk about a female powerhouse.

A philosophy I live and work by is…

Work: Do everything to the very best of your ability. You’re responsible for your own success.

Life: Treat everyone the way you would like to be treated. This one is non-negotiable.

Something I’ve learned the hard way is…

Just because something doesn’t turn out as you expected it to doesn’t mean it’s a failure. It’s simply an opportunity to learn.

Shop Kate’s debut book, Lune: Croissants All Day, All Night online now and at all good bookstores.

Source link